Hat day

The Japanese word for the 20th day of the month is ‘hatsuka’. It’s tricky to remember because it’s an irregular pronunciation of characters that would logically be read ‘nijuunichi’.

I help kids remember it by miming taking off a top hat.

I will be too busy to knit tomorrow (actually I intend to work my limbs off today so that I can take tomorrow night off to see one of my favourite bands, Teleman). So I spent yesterday making a hat for ‘hatsuka’.

I have lots of bright yarn in rainbow colours left from my blanket project, so I’m trying to use some of that up. Could have done with a chunky DK really, but as it’s my first time making a woolly hat, I’m pretty proud of the results. Here is the pattern.

photophoto (1)

About Sarah

Still just trying to make sense of the world.
This entry was posted in hat, knitting, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

