Indecision …

It’s been a busy week … That’s probably going to become something of a catchphrase around here. I feel like I’ve done nothing but work, work, work. Managing that all-important work-life balance thing seems to have gone out of the window.

I haven’t managed to make quality time to spend with my needles, which is a big shame. The intention was to put aside an hour or so today to hook my laptop up to the stereo and listen to the excellent new Andrew Bird album while practising the knit-one-purl-one rib; but as a favour to a friend I’m translating some text about the Isle of Man TT race into Japanese, and it’s taking longer than I expected it to. I haven’t done any translation into Japanese for about five years, and the original text is both technical and idiomatic, so it’s quite a challenge. It’s one I’m relishing, however, as I’m learning a lot about motorcycles and Manx history; and it’s a nice feeling to be able to concentrate on a piece of work like this.

Since completing my first project last week, I’ve been wondering what I should do next. Recently I was given a gorgeous vintage 1960s dress made from royal blue crepe, which I’m planning to wear to a wedding next month, and I’d like to make some kind of light-coloured shawl to wear with it, but I’m not too convinced I have the technical skill to start on something as serious as that just yet … This pattern looks nice, but I must admit the instructions are pretty much gibberish to me at this moment in time!

I quite like the below pattern, too, but despite having bought a 3mm crochet hook last weekend, I still haven’t the first clue about how to crochet. So in all probability neither of these projects will be started, let alone finished, in time to wear to the wedding with my new old dress.

If I manage to get anything under way, I’ll put up pictures of my progress. But if anyone has a pattern for a simple shawl that they can recommend for a knitting noob, I would really appreciate a share!

Last up, here’s a lovely song to which I would have knitted this week if I had managed to make the time for it! Instead it’s been a constant companion in my car on the way to and from work. From the new album Rooms Filled With Light by Fanfarlo. Excellent song, although the lyrics are a bit tricky to make out. Is he singing “the last of the pterodactyls” in the chorus? It certainly sounds like it to me.

About Knoob

Well ... I'm thirtyish, female, mostly British, and skirmishing occasionally with depression. I though that taking up a useful and practical new hobby might help me develop a healthy work/life balance. I failed to anticipate how frustrating learning to knit would occasionally prove. But I shall persevere in the face of adversity!
This entry was posted in knitting, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

