What it is, is …

Well then. This is going to be a blog about knitting. Yes, knitting. Knitting is something I know very, very little about, but that’s all going to change, so it is. Oh yes. Right now I drop stitches like major labels drop last year’s X Factor winners. But just you wait, in no time I’ll be posting photos of myself clad entirely in a hand-knitted polar-bear onesie complete with hood and paws. Well, maybe not. Perhaps I’ll eventually be able to produce something that isn’t (roughly) rectangular. At any rate, I’m going to try.

Following a couple of practice pieces, I am currently working on a green scarf in stockinette stitch that I can wear on Saint Patrick’s Day. It’s very basic: thirty stitches across, currently about a foot or so long. I did mess up a bit early on, I think I must have purled when I was meant to knit, but I’m not too worried about that. In my earlier attempts I’d always end up with an extra stitch after knitting a row, but thanks to this blog post I’ve realised why that happened and have managed to avoid that this time. I’m a little concerned about why the edges of my scarf curl round so much, am I doing something wrong when I turn? Or does that always happen with stockinette stitch? Maybe it’s just this cheap acrylic yarn. It’s not that important, though. Right now, the process is more important that the result.

I knit because I am depressed. It’s kind of an experiment. Being depressed is not much fun, really, and so I would like not to be. I’ve struggled with it for quite some time now; my main coping mechanism has been to emigrate whenever things got tough, but my doctor doesn’t seem to think that’s a particularly good way to deal with a depressive episode. Who’d’ve guessed, eh? So instead this time I’m giving medicine a go, which helps, but not as much as doing something productive.

Learning to knit. As hobbies go, it may not feature on adverts for Old Spice as often as yachting or horseback riding, but surely that’s Old Spice’s loss. Its appeal is endless: it’s cheap (couple of quid for a pair of needles and a ball of yarn), easy to fit into a busy lifestyle or to fill up a rainy Saturday afternoon, and you end up with something nice to keep or give away. Most importantly (for me, at least), I can do it while listening to music. I like music rather a lot. In fact, it is my intention that some considerable portion of this blog will consist of enthusiastic gushing about records that are great to knit to. For example, Notes From the Treetop by Alessi’s Ark. It’s almost as though that album was made to knit to. It’s whimsical, quirky, and humorous: just the thing to put on when you’re grappling with ribbing.

Well then, to sum up: this blog is going to be part exciting knitting anecdotes and patterns and so on, part fan-girl gushing about generic indie-rock records, and maybe every now and again a tiny little bit of panic, anxiety, darkness and despair (I’ll try and keep it to a minimum, but unfortunately it can be rather a large part of my life at times). I hope it’ll appeal to knitters of all ages and abilities, and to music fans, and I hope someone will read it and leave comments sometime. Knitting tips, music recommendations, mental health chat, anything.

That’s all for now, like. Peace etc.

About Knoob

Well ... I'm thirtyish, female, mostly British, and skirmishing occasionally with depression. I though that taking up a useful and practical new hobby might help me develop a healthy work/life balance. I failed to anticipate how frustrating learning to knit would occasionally prove. But I shall persevere in the face of adversity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What it is, is …

  1. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    What a great first post. šŸ™‚ I look forward to reading more, and don’t worry about the curling – it always happens with stocking stitch!

    • Knoob says:

      Thanks very much for following! I was hoping someone would, as that means I can’t now give up. Good to know about the curling, perhaps now I’ll stop trying to smoothen it out every time I finish a row.

  2. lisakingo says:

    Knitting is excellent therapy!! In fact, I came across a blogger (who commented on one of my posts) whose header asserts such a fact : http://lionsdaughter.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/a-new-hat-and-more-potd/

    Enjoy xxx

  3. Vix says:

    Hi there,
    I’ve just discovered your blog and wanted to say a huge well done! Suffering from despression is not an easy thing to deal with or to admit to. But you’re right about knitting (or any other craft or productive activity) being an amazing coping tool!
    With regards to your knitting curling at the edges, unfortunately this is a drawback of stocking (or stockinette) stitch but blocking your finished piece should help.
    If you ever need any help, craft-related or otherwise, I hope you’ll pop over to my corner of the craft-blogging world and drop me a line
    Good luck
    Vix

  4. Vix says:

    Sorry, me again. I’ve just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    Vix

Leave a Reply

